Free Bonus at Betway

A place in The Professional Football Association Team Of The Year has been awarded to the best 11 players in their respective divisions since the 1973-74 season.

Voted for by professional footballers, this award means much more than any accolade from the football writers.

The PFA awards are voted for by the player’s footballing peers, the players they face week in and week out. This makes the awards a sought-after prize for any professional player irrespective of what division they play in.

The awards do cause controversy largely due to the fact that the awards are voted for before the end of the season.

Here we take a look at the best team of each season from the top division during the 1990s.



David Seaman

Big Dave only conceded 18 goals in the entire 1990-91 season only ending up on the losing side once. A rock behind 4 other rocks.


Lee Dixon
Credit: Pascal Rondeau/Allsport

An Arsenal defender, surprise surprise. Dixon was a model of consistency for Arsenal and much like the rest of the defence was solid all season.

Des Walker

Unbelievably Des Walker didn’t play for Arsenal. He played for Nottingham Forest and would be so good that the Italians wanted him, a huge compliment, in the 90s the Italians were the kings of defensive prowess.



Mark Wright

A stellar season for Mark Wright with Derby forced Bobby Robson to take him to Italy for the World Cup and he continued his good form in the league in 90/91. Big Mark earned a big money move to Liverpool soon after.

Stuart Pearce

For Stuart Pearce, every day was leg day. His thighs were bigger than most footballers waists. His considerable strength and determination helped him become a solid defender and an established free kick taker. Pearce bagged a career-best 11 league goals this season, unbelievable for a full-back.

credit – Daily Express